Leave a comment

Gretchen Parlato – Butterfly

“I sing :)”

That’s what she says about her in her twitter account. She sings. And she does it really, really well.

I had heard about her some months ago, and felt I needed to listen by myself if the good critics I read were true. And they were.

Born in Los Angeles in 1976, Gretchen moved to New York. In 2001, she was the first vocalist to be accepted in the Thelonius Monk Institute of jazz. She won the 2004 Thelonious Monk Institute International Vocal Competition. Her talent allowed her to perform with artists like Terence Blanchard, Kenny Barron, Terri Lynn Carrington and Esperanza Spalding.

European and japanese scenarios have been enchanted by her unique style, with incredible freshness of its ethnic reminiscenses.

Please, discover and enjoy.

More info: www.gretchenparlato.com · @gretchenparlato

Leave a comment